New Year’s Resolutions

December 29, 2011 § 2 Comments

English: The "three pillars" of sust...

The Pillars of Sustainability

It’s almost time for one of my favorite holidays – New Year‘s! Now why do I love New Year’s so much? Because, it’s one of the only times each year you get a chance to start fresh. It’s a great time to make some resolutions to improve your life and the lives of others.

What are your plans for this year? Why not make a sustainable resolution this year? When I say sustainable, I mean that you should make a resolution that you can finally follow through with. Make it simple but impactful. Instead of saying “I’m going to lose weight,” make it a quantifiable goal, and set a plan of action right away. A much more sustainable resolution would be to say “I’m going to go to the gym for 3 hours each week.” Try this. I guarantee you’ll see results.

So now that we’ve made our resolutions sustainable, why not make a resolution about sustainability? Of course, losing weight is a very important aspect of sustainability, as is forming sustainable relationships with your friends and family. However, one of the best resolutions I can suggest to you this year is to make a commitment to recycling. Promise yourself that you will recycle all of one thing – every can, or every water bottle, for instance. I’m already bottle-free, so this year I’m pledging to make sure I recycle every can that I use.

Remember, keep your resolutions within reason. If you pledge to recycle, if for some reason there’s no recycling bin available, don’t fret. You don’t have to be perfect. I’m bottle free – I use a reusable bottle whenever possible. But in situations when I’m unable to use that bottle – say I’m on an airplane – I won’t worry about taking the bottle. I just make sure I recycle it after. Going back to the recycling situation, you can do better putting it in a garbage pail rather than just throwing it on the floor – not ideal, but better than littering.

What are your resolutions? Let me know, and I’ll post them here along with mine!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to New Year’s Resolutions

What do you think?

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Year’s Resolutions at Being Green in a Sea of Orange.

meta

