Whose Problem? Part Final: My Solution

December 18, 2011 § Leave a comment

For the past week, I’ve been posting about the question “Whose Problem?” is it to solve our sustainability issues. Today, I plan on giving you MY solution. Keep in mind that I am neither an expert nor will this be a complete solution. My aims here are to provide a framework, a ground-plan, some sort of basis upon which others should build.

I find my views best are best expressed in a manifesto of sorts:

A Sustainability Manifesto

  1. Our environment is on a path towards irreversible damage that will threaten human life as we know it.
  2. The only way to save our environment from irreversible damage is to have the immediate adoption of sustainable practices by corporations, governments, and individuals.
  3. To have effective and long-lasting sustainability, the government must work in tandem with businesses and citizens.
  4. Sustainability does not and should not require the loss or sacrifice of modern-day conveniences.
  5. Sustainable practices should have benefits in areas other than the environment, i.e. profit, happiness, or general well-being.
  6. Sustainable changes will only be effective if done with pure intent and carried out to completion.
  7. The first step on the road to sustainability is the dissemination of information, without which we cannot successfully make sustainable change.

Of course, I am sure this manifesto will change and transform as I continue my journeys in the world of sustainability, and I hope that it does eventually find a more permanent form. Let me know what you think!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

What do you think?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Whose Problem? Part Final: My Solution at Being Green in a Sea of Orange.

meta

